I wrote this for the people over at “AnGST Underground,” for Marquette University.

AnGST Underground

“There will be time, there will be time,” writes T.S. Eliot, “To prepare a face to meet the faces that you meet.”

Time for you and time for me,
And time yet for a hundred indecisions,
And for a hundred visions and revisions,
Before the taking of a toast and tea.

– “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock”

Interviewing for a faculty position is a lot like these words from Eliot: it involves preparing a “face,” a way of presenting yourself articulately, a manner of knowing what you’re about while still being flexible enough to think on your feet. The following reflections relate to things I learned as I went, things that helped me prepare, and what I would have liked to know ahead of time. I have divided these reflections into three categories: (1) questions I was often asked, (2) exhaustion, (3) “all in all…”

It is impossible…

View original post 1,375 more words

